Gawler River Floodplain Management Authority

The Gawler River Floodplain Management Authority (GRFMA) was formed as a Regional Subsidiary under Section 43 and Schedule 2 of the Local Government Act 1999 in August 2002, by a Charter that was amended and published in The South Australian Government Gazette on 17th August 2006 at pages 2813 to 2820.

The six Constituent Councils of the GRFMA are:

The Charter provides that a representative of the Adelaide Mount Lofty Ranges Natural Resources Management Board (AMLRNRMB) is the Chairperson of the Board of Management of the GRFMA. The Charter sets down the powers, functions, safeguards, accountabilities and an operational framework and the Business Plan sets down the operational plan and financial plan to achieve agreed objectives.

The GRFMA has been established for the following purposes:

  1. To co-ordinate the construction, operation and maintenance of flood mitigation infrastructure in the Gawler River area (the Floodplain);
  2. To raise finance for the purpose of developing, managing and operating and maintaining flood mitigation works within the Floodplain;
  3. To provide a forum for the discussion and consideration of topics relating to the Constituent Council’s obligations and responsibilities in relation to management of flood mitigation within the Floodplain;
  4. To enter into agreements with Constituent Councils for the purpose of managing and developing the Floodplain.

For further information you can contact Executive Officer: Dean Gollan on or by telephone 0413 174 222.


GRFMA Policies

The Scheme

GRFMA Open Space Strategy Documents

Downloadable Documents

GRFMA Meetings and Key Outcome Summary



After Hours Contact Call 08 8522 9211
89 Murray Street, Gawler SA 5118
Tel: 08 8522 9211
advanced search
Font Size Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size