Food Control

Food businesses are comprised of restaurants, takeaways, deli’s, green grocers, markets, cafes, bakeries, sporting clubs, childcare centres, family daycare centres, community groups and many more.

Council’s Health Officers are authorised under the Food Act 2001, Food Safety Standards and Food Regulations 2002 to regulate the sale of safe and suitable food. Health Officers also:

  • Conduct routine inspections of food premises
  • Provide a food safety program auditing service (Department of Health Approved Auditor)
  • Respond to food complaints and food poisoning cases
  • Provide education and guidance in food safety & food auditing
  • Assist the Department of Health with food recalls.
  • Education of Food handlers.

If you are looking to start a Food Business, you will need to apply to Council by completing a Food Business Notification Form.

Food Safety Rating Scheme for Consumers

Look out for the star rating at the places you eat.
The Food Safety Rating Scheme gives you information about how well food businesses comply with food safety standards. The more stars awarded means a higher standard of food safety.

During routine food safety inspections of food businesses, local council Environmental Health Officers calculate a score based on how well the food business meets food safety standards. This score is interpreted into a star rating:

3 stars - good
4 stars - very good
5 stars - excellent

Businesses that score 3, 4 or 5 stars receive a certificate to display proudly to let you know food safety standards have been met. If a score of less than 3 stars is calculated a certificate will not be awarded and the local council will work with the business to improve compliance.

Look out for the star rating certificate at the places you eat. Certificates can be seen at eateries across South Australia, but participation in the scheme is voluntary for local councils. A business also has the choice on whether or not to display a certificate, so just because a food business does not have a certificate does not mean it is unsafe.

Read Why a business does not have a certificate for more information.

Currently, 18 local councils are participating in the Food Safety Rating Scheme.

  • Adelaide City Council
  • Adelaide Hills Council
  • Town of Gawler
  • City of Charles Sturt
  • City of Holdfast Bay
  • City of Mitcham
  • City of Mount Gambier
  • City of Tea Tree Gully
  • District Council of Mount Barker
  • Kangaroo Island Council
  • Mid Murray Council
  • Rural City of Murray Bridge
  • City of Onkaparinga
  • City of Playford
  • City of Port Adelaide Enfield
  • City of Salisbury
  • City of Unley
  • City of West Torrens

The Food Safety Rating Scheme helps you to make informed choices about where you eat. Businesses that underperform receive education and support to improve food safety compliance.

Read the Food Safety Rating Scheme Fact Sheet for more information.

Food businesses can learn more about the scheme at Food Safety Rating Scheme - businesses.

SA Health is currently conducting  two year formal review of the Scheme.  Online surveys have been developed  to help in the review process. The Food Safety Rating Scheme (FSRS or the scheme), officially launched in April 2016 in South Australia.

As part of review process, we would like you to take part in the online survey.

  1. Food Safety Rating Scheme- Consumer Survey - click here
  2. Food Safety Rating Scheme – Business Survey - click here