Toggle dismiss alert

For more information please visit Council's COVID-19 page or call the SA COVID-19 Information Line on 1800 253 787 between 9am to 5pm, 7 days per week.

Dismiss alert

Gawler River Floodplain Management Authority

The Gawler River Floodplain Management Authority (GRFMA) was formed as a Regional Subsidiary under Section 43 and Schedule 2 of the Local Government Act 1999 in August 2002 by establishment of a Charter.

The Charter of the Authority was most recently amended effective 28 January 2020.

Please refer to Downloadable Documents below to view and or obtain a copy of the amended Charter.

Water Flowing over rocks in river


The six Constituent Councils of the GRFMA are:

  • Adelaide Hills Council
  • The Barossa Council
  • Town of Gawler
  • Light Regional Council
  • Adelaide Plains Council
  • City of Playford

The Charter sets down the powers, functions, safeguards, accountability and an operational framework and the Business Plan sets down the operational plan and financial plan to achieve agreed objectives.

The Authority has been established for the following purposes:

  1. To co-ordinate the construction, operation and maintenance of flood mitigation infrastructure for the Gawler River. This purpose is the core business of the Authority;
  2. To raise finance for the purpose of developing, managing and operating and maintaining works approved by the board;
  3. To provide a forum for the discussion and consideration of topics relating to the Constituent Council’s obligations and responsibilities in relation to management of flood mitigation for the Gawler River;
  4. Upon application of one or more Constituent Councils pursuant to clause 12.4:
    1. to coordinate toe construction, maintenance and promotion and enhancement of the Gawler River and areas adjacent to the Gawler River as recreational open space for the adjacent communities: and
    2. to enter into agreements with one or more of the Constituent Councils for the purpose of managing and developing the Gawler River.

For further information contact the Executive Officer:

David Hitchcock

Phone: 0407 717 368

Downloadable Documents